If for some reason you decide to sell your new iPhone 5s or 5c, or perhaps give it to a loved one, a new feature in this series of phone can cause a problem for you. The “Find My iPhone” is a standard feature for the latest Apple products that can help locate your device if lost, but can also block activation by a new owner. Find My iPhone is also automatically activated with iOS7 for iPhones, iPads, and iPod Touch. If “Find My iPhone is enabled, it will block the new user from being able to use it. This will undoubtedly cause you and the new owner a big headache.
However, there is a way to turn this off and enable a seamless transition.
How to turn off Find My iPhone
If you have already reset your device, Find My iPhone is turned off.
If you cannot power on your device, you can still do it.
If you still aren’t able to remove the device from your iCloud account, you might want to consider contacting Apple. Also, if you have an extended warranty on it, don’t forget to transfer that too.